Australia’s Smallest Parrot

Back in the little town of Kuranda we spotted some fig parrots!  Looks like they were excavating a nest but they were busy and fast and I got pathetic footage of them.  I said so long to my mate Greg in Cairns after our 10 day Cape York/Atherton Tablelands adventure and started searching for pig ferrets  .. whoops I mean fig parrots in earnest.  

athertontablelandsfiggie

athertontablelandsfiggiebestThen I tried the Cairns graveyard… no not to pay my respects to those passed on but thinking fig parrots might like the extensive treed grounds.  BINGO!!!!  I discovered a large shrub-like tree that had figgies coming and going at different intervals all morning.  

Athertontablelandsfiggie13Athertontablelandsfiggiefacepic2

Leave a Reply

