The Stirling Mountain Range

Leaving Perth this time I traveled 400 km to the South West and had the experience of a lifetime camping within the Stirling Mountain Range.  The hosts, Brian & Vicky Bilney at Stirling Range Retreat were super helpful and I got super looks at elegant parrot and Red-capped parrot as well. Brian & Vicky can be contacted here:  http://www.stirlingrange.com.au/home.html


StirlingMountainscenic
StirlingMountainselegantlarge

I had an amazing time  watching Red-capped Parrots at their nest site.  However,  this is where they offered a challenge.  They would only stare at my blind suspiciously and not come to the cavity to feed the calling chicks.  Rather than disturb them further I abandoned this approach.  As long as I kept a long way off I could observe them continuing to care for their young.

StirlingMountainsredcappedparrot2

StirlingMountainsredcappedparrotedited

As good fortune would have it, the following day I stumbled upon another pair of Red-caps, this time  feeding at the side of the road!  Using my vehicle as a blind created the filming opportunity I so badly wanted!

Leave a Reply

