Now Available! Discovering the World of Parrots – Australia on DVD!



Buy Now Button

Whether you own a cockatiel or budgie, or are simply fascinated by Australian Parrots, this series allows you to see 50 species (almost every one!) flying wild and free in their natural habitat.

Join in on the search for the elusive Princess Parrot, or watch as wild Scarlet-chested Parrots deal with scorching heat in the remote desert outback.  Or travel to rugged tasmania to observe the last few Orange-bellied Parrots left on earth. This series is a must for anyone who loves parrots!

Running time: 4-dvd’s 174 minutes.

Comments from those who have purchased the series:

I have to say that your work is the best animal documentary I have seen since 2004 or so! I have kind of a weakness for Australian Parrots and the way you made your DVD series helped fill my yearning to see these beautiful birds.  I want to congratulate you for a good job and write, that what I ordered was worth every cent – seriously!
Thanks for a great film!
Margaret.

Absolutely stunning footage in this set of four DVD’s. I’ve watched my set several times already and can’t get enough of watching Australia’s magnificent parrots. You did an amazing job Don videoing almost all of Australia’s parrot species, and this set beautifully gives us a glimpse into the lives of parrots as represented by the country with the most parrot species in the world. The DVD’s all provide just the right amount of narration to illuminate the video without being overbearing. A joy to watch. Well done!

-Amy


Click here for  Youtube previews:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GY7lW58k-go

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iLDeQzuRpQo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-5MEXfAMDg

PRICES & ORDERING – SALE!!!  Reg $55.00 now $50.00!

$50.00 (US funds only)  This includes shipping for all orders domestic or international.
To order your set click on the paypal button above. (You don’t need a paypal account just a major credit card).

Or you can order your copy with a check or money order (US funds  only)

Payable to

for inquiries or comments please contact

polytelismedia@gmail.com

OR READ MORE ABOUT THE SERIES AND WHERE IT WAS FILMED IN THE BLOG BELOW!


Kimballrainbows2

In August of 2008 I Journeyed to Australia – the land of Parrots to attempt to Film all 50 plus species of these Amazing and Colorful Birds.  My Journey Led me to all Corners of This Magnificent Country.  I hope you enjoy a brief description and some images from this fantastic trip of a lifetime.

Tags: , , ,

18 Responses to “Now Available! Discovering the World of Parrots – Australia on DVD!”

  1. Lynne Says:

    G’day

    I found your blog via an Aussie forum and have thoroughly enjoyed reading it and every so often I go back and reread again.

    I am envious as to the amount and variety of parrots that you saw on your travels around Oz. Would have loved to have seen a Palm Parrot (in Qld) when we were on our trip around Oz.

    We have a birdfeeder set up in our backyard, mainly for the the 28’s (Australian Ringneck) but visited, not so frequently by Pink and Greys (Galahs) and Corellas.

    Will watch your videos bit by bit as we are limited on our download quota.

    Cheers

    Lynne
    Western Australian

    • polytelismedia Says:

      Hi Lynne:

      Many thanks for your kind comments and its so heartwarming to hear that folks are enjoying my blog. Part of the fun of having had such an amazing time in Aus is sharing with others so thanks!

      Lynn Aussie Ringnecks are gorgeous and you would have laughed at me perhaps almost breaking my neck trying to see my first ones out of the car window in the Alice Springs area. Since I was so new to Aus I had no idea whether these would be the only ones I would get to see so all of that equals a great deal of suspense and adventure. Your Country is amazing and I had the adventure of a lifetime!

      Lynne if you stay tuned to the blog you will see that almost towards the end of my journey I cover a lot of corners of Western Australia. Perhaps even your area… just not sure where you live of course.

      I was curious as to which forum you might have found me. I know I have chatted on a few of them.

      Thanks again Lynne!

      Cheers!

      Don

  2. zenonie Says:

    Hi Don (wompoo), I found you on a forum too, exploreoz I think and haven’t you also posted on Birdforum? Anyway I am looking forward to reading all of your blog and looking at the videos. I was interested in your post about the birds at Bowra Station. Our place Kilcowera is only a few hundred kilometres from there. Lots of parrots here too including the elusive Bourke’s. I too have a blog on wordpress!

    Good luck with your documentary. zenonie

    • polytelismedia Says:

      Hi Zeonie:

      So great of you to come by and check out the blog. I used exploreoz to get some tips on remote travel before I came to your country and there are lots of helpful folks there! Yes I have also been on Bird Forum as well but felt my own blog might be a bit more conducive for sharing my adventure folks.

  3. parrot toys Says:

    You took my dream trip. How is the editing going, love the parrot pictures you have up.

    • polytelismedia Says:

      The editing is going very well although no where as fast as I would like it to. Currently about 1/2 completed with target release date Spring of 2010.
      Once it is completed I will announce it here on the blog along with ordering information. Thanks very much for your interest!

      Don

  4. Sandy Says:

    Thank you for posting your URLs. I enjoyed your preview very much. The photography of the wildlife and beautiful country was breathtaking.
    Sandy

  5. Sarah Says:

    Hi, I loved Reading through your blog and seeing you pictures. It seems like you had an amazing adventure! My husband and I went to Australia on our honeymoon and I am a bird fanatic. I was just in my element there seeing birds that we normally keep in cages, flying free in the wild! Sadly we didn’t go to the areas to see wild cockatiels, but i will definitely go to that station you mentioned! I really want to see MMs, cockatiels and budgies! Did you go to bird world in kuranda? It was an amazing place, I fell in love with a very cuddly MM there!! Thanks for posting your blog, it is very inspiring!!

    • polytelismedia Says:

      Hi Sadow. No I didnt make it to the bird world in Kuranda but it seemed even though I was there for 6 months I needed to be there so much longer! So much to see and so many beautiful parrots to watch. By the way Bowra station where I filmed the Cockatiels and MM’s is in the process of being made a sanctuary. I dont normally do this but it would be great if we could contribute to the cause since it will take lots of cash to purchase the property from the owners. Its an amazing place and definitely somewhere you need to go when you go back! Cheers! Don

  6. David Simpson Says:

    Hi Don,

    I often see some remarks of yours on the Aus birding site, so I thought I would go a bit further and look up your blog.
    I read with interest your notes on the trip around Ozzie, and obviously was interested in seeing your photos of the Superbs…………oh yes I recognise the cattle trough well, gee I have seen a lot of Superbs there.
    Obviously at this time of the year the Superbs are not there , still am looking forward to the end of the year when they should all return as harvesting is in full swing.
    On the subject of the Harvest, there is a lot of trepadation this year on whether the locusts will get out of control…………..Even up at Nangar where you found the Turquopise parrots I was there earlier in the year and as I walked around disturbed heaps of hoppers.
    NSW has had good rains this year and all being well the farm should be in for a great harvest…………..so the question of the locusts is a very worrying one.
    Do you have any further plans for repeat visits to Australia ?
    Let me know if you can front up would like to catch up with you.

    David Simpson.

    • polytelismedia Says:

      Hi David:

      First of all I want to thank you whole-heartedly for your fantastic contribution to my trip in Aus David. You were personally instrumental in my acquiring the only footage I have of both Superb Parrots and Turquoise Parrots. Heat and biting ants aside, the experience of filming Turquoise Parrots at Nangar and Superbs at the famous Sheep trough was absolutely fantastic! I dont have any specific plans to return to Aus at the moment but would absolutely love to in the future at some point. It was an amazing experience and it was helpful people like you mate that made it possible.

      Cheers and warm wishes,

      Don Kimball

  7. Izabela Says:

    Hello Don.

    Will there be any footage of wild cockatiels in Your film, especially any sounds of them? I am blind, so the sound is quite important to me. I own three of these little darlings at home and would love to listen to them in the wild.

    Izabela Dłużyk, Poland

    • polytelismedia Says:

      Hi Izabela
      Yes there is a segment on wild cockatiels in the film. You can definitely hear them among the wild birds. However their calls simply punctuate the sound track occasionally so you have to be listening to hear them. Its amazing to be out in the wild and hear such a familiar sound like we hear from our captive birds. Most of the brief sounds you hear on the soundtrack is the typical whee whee contact call that all cockatiels make. For someone like yourself who would be listening to the film only you might enjoy simply hearing the sound of the cocaktiels environment including the other bird species they live with. As I mentioned you can hear brief short contact calls sporadically in the cockatiel clip but they are brief.
      Thanks very much for your interest in the film!

      Don

  8. Margaret Says:

    I have to say that your work is the best animal documentary I have seen since 2004 or so! I have kind of a weakness for Australian Parrots and the way you made your DVD series helped fill my yearning to see these beautiful birds.

    I really enjoyed watching all of these wild species of parrots in Australia. Besides Budgerigars and Cockatiels I found out a lot of info about less know species as well. For example, all of the Neophemas (particularly Scarlet-chested). Cockatoos are known throughout the world but I didn’t know that there were so many species in the wild.

    I want to congratulate you for a good job and write, that what I ordered was worth every cent – seriously!
    Thanks for a great film!
    Margaret.

  9. polytelismedia Says:

    Thank you Margaret! Your comments made my day and I am so glad you found your DVD series a good purchase and that you enjoyed it so much!

    Don

  10. Amy Says:

    Absolutely stunning footage in this set of four DVD’s. I’ve watched my set several times already and can’t get enough of watching Australia’s magnificent parrots. You did an amazing job Don videoing almost all of Australia’s parrot species, and this set beautifully gives us a glimpse into the lives of parrots as represented by the country with the most parrot species in the world. The DVD’s all provide just the right amount of narration to illuminate the video without being overbearing. A joy to watch. Well done!

  11. Margaret Says:

    Hi Don, this time I write to you, to invite you to a new forum, which I’m one of Administrators. A place for parrot owners and prospective owners to share information, stories, and pictures of their daily lives with our feathered friends. Join us!
    http://www.parrotparadiseforum.com/
    (we start also deals with stores, discounts, etc.)

    Best wishes to you,
    Margaret.

  12. polytelismedia Says:

    Thank you Margaret. I would be happy to join your forum!

    Don

Leave a Reply

